
Rules Evening – 14 January 2016 

Rule Changes 
Change Rule Implication 

Clarification on the 
definition of ball in play 

Definition If ball has been replaced or not lifted and 
the marker is there, it is still a ball in play 
and normal rules apply 

Clarification on 
equipment 

Definition Objects, such as rakes, are deemed your 
equipment if you are holding it 

Wrong score on hole 6-6d no longer disqualified if find out 
something you didn’t know you had 
incurred.  Just apply the penalty 

Anchoring the club 14-1b No longer able to hold club directly 
against you or use an anchor point 

Ball moving after 
address 

18-2b Has been removed – only rule that applies 
is if you caused it to move 

Doubt as to procedure 
clarified 

3-3 Amended to provide more guidance on 
what the player and committee to do but 
no actual change to the sense of the rule 

  



Rules Quiz 

The following quiz relates to the rules of golf effective 2016 and does not 

include local rules. 

True or False 

  True False Rule 

1 A player may move loose impediments, eg 
leaves, in a bunker to look for their ball  

X  20 

2 A ball overhanging the edge of a bunker but not 
touching the sand is in the bunker 

 X Definition 

3 A ball is in a water hazard when it touches the 
outside edge of a stake defining the water 
hazard 

X  Definition 

4 A ball is visible in casual water but a player 
cannot retrieve it to identify it, although 
everyone saw it go in.  As it cannot be identified 
the player must treat his ball as lost. 

 X 
Decision 
25-1/1 

5 To identify a ball in the rough a player may 
rotate the ball in place without marking its 
position, providing they do not move if off its 
spot 

 X 12-2 

6 A player may not rake footprints and other 
irregularities in a bunker that are on the line of 
play, even if the ball is not in the bunker 

X  
Decision  
13-2/28 

7 The wall or lip of a bunker, not covered with 
grass, is part of the bunker 

X  Definition 

8 The ball lies in a bunker that is completely 
covered by casual water.  Bert may avoid a 
penalty drop outside the bunker by dropping at 
the least deep part of the water, not nearer the 
hole 

X  
Decision 
25-1/b 

9 In match play, before starting the match the 
player declares a handicap of 9.  After 2 holes, 
the player remembers his handicap was 
actually 7.  The opponent’s score is adjusted by 
+2 holes. 

 X 
6-2a 

Disqualified 

10 In stroke play, a player starts on the 10th rather 
than the 1st.  The player is disqualified 

X  
Decision 

3/2 

11 A player’s ball is at rest in a bunker. As they 

walk into the bunker a twig is blown from a tree 

and comes to rest over their ball. They may 

remove the twig without penalty 

 X 
Decision 
13-4/18 



  True False Rule 

12 Prior to chipping to the hole a player may repair 

damage made by a ball to the fringe of the 

putting green that is two club-lengths in front of 

where their ball lies and on their line of play. 

 X 
Decision 
13-2/0.5 

13 Before dropping a ball under the Rules a player 

may sweep away twigs, leaves and loose soil 

with their hand to clear the area of drop. 
 X Definition 

14 A player may not take relief from footprints 

made by a burrowing animal in a bunker. X  
Decision 
25/19.5 

15 If you cannot find a ball that is known to have 
come to rest in a lateral water hazard there are 

options to drop a ball under penalty of one 

stroke on either side of the hazard. 

X  
Rule 26-

1c(ii) 

 

Multiple Choice 

1 A player’s ball is sitting amongst some leaves in a 
bunker.  On the back stroke the club brushes 
against some of the leaves.  What is the ruling? 

a) No penalty 
b) 1 shot penalty 
c) 2 shot penalty 

C 
Decision 
13-4/33 

2 In stroke play, a player breaks a young tree, 
situated out of bounds, which interferes with her 
swing.  What is the ruling? 

a) No penalty 
b) 1 shot penalty 
c) 2 shot penalty 
d) Disqualification 

C Decision 
13-2/19 

3 In a stroke play competition, the ball is lying 
outside of the bunker and on his line of play is a 
large branch lying in the bunker.  The player 
removes the branch from the bunker.  What is the 
ruling: 

a) 2 shot penalty for removing a loose 
impediment from a bunker and has to 
replace the branch 

b) 2 shot penalty for removing a loose 
impediment from a bunker but does not 
have to replace the branch 

c) 2 shot penalty for improving the line of play, 
and has to replace the branch 

d) No penalty because loose impediments can 
be removed from a bunker if the ball is not in 
the bunker 

D 23-1 



4 A ball is replaced on the putting green but the 
marker is not yet lifted.  A gust of wind blows the 
ball away from the hole.  What is the ruling: 

a) The ball must be replaced back where the 
marker is as the ball was not back in play 

b) The ball must be played from where it ends 
up as the ball was deemed to be back in play 

B 18-2 

5 A player moves leaves in a bunker to find/identify 
his ball and in doing so moves his ball.  What is the 
ruling: 

a) The ball must be replaced with no penalty 
b) The player incurs a 1 shot penalty and must 

replace the ball 
c) The player must play the ball from where it 

comes to rest with a 1 shot penalty 
d) The player must play the ball from where it 

comes to rest with no penalty 

B 12-1b 

6 A player does not realise that his ball is lying out of 
bounds and he plays it onto the green.  His fellow 
competitor saw it and said he must go back to the 
tee to play again.  What is the ruling? 

a) Player plays his 3rd stroke from the tee 
b) Player plays his 5th stroke from the tee  
c) Player plays his 5th stroke on the green 
d) Player is DQ’d 

B Decision 
15/6 

7 Players ball comes to rest on a bridge that is within 
the margins of a water hazard.  Which of the 
following is correct? 

a) Player must play from the bridge without 
grounding his club 

b) Player may play the ball as it lies and ground 
his club on the bridge or he may take relief 
from the water hazard under penalty 

c) Player may take relief from the bridge, 
without penalty, as the bridge is an 
immoveable obstruction 

d) Player may play off the bridge or declare his 
ball unplayable under penalty of one stroke  

B Decision 
13-4/30 



8 In stroke play, player putts his ball just as a gust of 
wind blows a paper bag in front of the hole.  He 
quickly moves forward and removes the bag to 
stop the ball hitting it.  What is the ruling? 

a) There is no penalty and the putt stands 
b) Penalty of one stroke and the putt stands 
c) Penalty of two strokes and the putt stands 
d) Penalty of two strokes and he must replay 

the putt  

C Rule 24-1 

9 Player replaces ball where it was marked, and it 
stays at rest for several seconds.  As he addresses 
the ball, it rolls down into the hole.  What is the 
ruling? 

a) Player must replace the ball where it was 
marked 

b) Player must replace the ball where it was 
marked and incurs a one shot penalty 

c) Player is deemed to have holed out with his 
previous stroke 

d) Player is deemed to have holed out and 
incurs a one shot penalty 

C Decision 
20-3d/1 

10 In match play, player asks opponent to lift ball as it 
interferes with her play.  Instead the opponent 
plays the ball.  What is the ruling? 

a) Player wins the hole as opponent played out 
of turn 

b) No penalty, opponent’s stroke stands and 
player must now play 

c) No penalty, opponent must replace ball and 
play again 

d) Player may ask opponent to replay ball or 
may let the shot stand. 

D Rule 
10-1/c 

 

  



Bit of Fun 

After celebrating much too enthusiastically on New Year’s Eve, George arrives at the 

first tee for his New Year’s Day match against his arch rival, Bill. Things don’t go well 

for him and unbelievably (!) he is 7 holes down without having struck a ball, when he 

concedes the match. George has not conceded any stroke or hole and has not breached 

a Local Rule or Condition of Competition. Explain how this could possibly have occurred 

under the Rules of Golf. 

George arrives 2 minutes after his start time and loses the 1st hole  
Rule 6-3a – in match play, if a player arrives at his starting point, ready to play, within five minutes 
after his starting time, the penalty for failure to start on time is loss of the first hole.  1 Down 

George and Bill walk to the par-3, 2nd hole where Bills tees-off. His ball bounces on the putting green 
and rolls straight into the hole for a hole-in-one. After congratulating Bill, George is understandably 
flustered and whiffs (fresh air) his ball, thereby losing the 2nd hole.  2 Down 

Bill tees-off at the 3rd hole and George goes to get his driver from his golf bag. He sees that he has 
forgotten to remove the two new clubs that he was given for Christmas (from China), a driver with a 
massive 480cc clubhead and a putter with a tailored grip with indentations indicating where the 
hands should be placed. When he admits that he has more than 14 clubs in his bag Bill advises him 
that he is penalised two holes for carrying more than 14 clubs on holes 1 and 2; 
Rule 4-4a – A player must not start a round with more than 14 clubs. At the conclusion of the hole at 
which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole 
at which a breach occurred, with a maximum deduction of two holes   4 Down 

George is now 4 holes down, but worse is to come. Bill takes a good look at George’s Christmas 
presents and quickly recognises that the driver clubhead is larger than is permitted by Appendix ll, 4b 
(460cc plus a tolerance of 10cc). Also, the indentations on the putter grip make it non-conforming, 
because the cross-section of the grip must not have concavity, must be symmetrical and must remain 
generally similar throughout the length of the grip, Appendix ll, 3. Another loss of two holes for 
George. 
Rule 4-1a - The player’s clubs must conform to the provisions, specifications and interpretations set 
forth in Appendix II. At the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the 
match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred, with a maximum 
deduction of two holes.   6 Down 

As you can imagine, at 6 down George is not thinking clearly as he tees his ball. As he addresses it he 
realises that he does not have room to make a stroke and, instead of moving his ball, he moves the 
tee marker away from the area of his intended stance, incurring a loss of hole penalty. 
Rule 11-2 - if a player moves a tee-marker for the purpose of avoiding interference with his stance, the 
area of his intended swing or his line of play he incurs the penalty for a breach of Rule 13-2.  7 Down 

So, George is now 7 holes down on the teeing ground of the 3rd hole, without having hit a ball. It is 
obviously not his day and perhaps we should forgive him for conceding the match after playing just 
one fresh air shot! 


